Yandex Advertising und seine Rolle für Online-Händler in Russland

shape shape

Obwohl Google in der überwiegenden Mehrheit der Länder am häufigsten genutzt wird, trifft die Suchmaschine in Russland auf einen ernsthaften Konkurrenten um den Marktanteil: Yandex.

Mit seinen 20 Jahren Erfahrung auf dem russischen Markt dürfte Yandex für viele nationalen Internetnutzer die erste Wahl sein. Aber die neuesten Statistiken belegen etwas anderes. Mit einem Anteil von 54,89% am russischen Suchmaschinenmarkt hat Google Yandex überholt. Warum also in Yandex und Yandex.Direct investieren, wenn Google (und damit Google Ads) auf dem Vormarsch ist?

Auch wenn die Zahlen andeuten, dass Google eine bessere Investition wäre, würde Ihre Marketingstrategie stark von Yandex profitieren. Warum? Weil Yandex zwar nicht mehr die Nummer eins unter den russischen Suchmaschinen ist, aber immer noch einen ziemlich großen Anteil am Suchmaschinenmarkt hält. Zeit, Google Ads und Yandex nebeneinander zu stellen – und sie auf ihre Möglichkeiten und Grenzen zu vergleichen.

Was sind die Unterschiede zwischen Yandex Advertising und Google Ads?

Wie bei den meisten Werbeplattformen gibt es Unterschiede und Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Yandex Advertising und Google Ads. Beide Unternehmen betreiben ihre privaten Suchmaschinen und arbeiten mit verschiedenen anderen Websites zusammen. Google verfügt über mehr Partnerschaften – aber im Gegensatz zu ihm erscheinen die Anzeigen von Yandex auch in den Suchanfragen von Mail.ru und Rambler, die beide in der russischen Bevölkerung sehr beliebt sind. Wenn Sie mit dem Gedanken spielen, auf dem russischen Markt zu werben, sollten Sie dieses Argument nicht vergessen.

Wie steht es um die Werbeformate? Bei den Anzeigenformaten, die Google anbietet, handelt es sich um Textanzeigen, Anzeigen für die dynamische Suche, Anzeigen, die nur auf Abruf geschaltet werden können, Anzeigen für Produktshopping, Schaufenster-Shopping-Anzeigen und App-Promotion-Anzeigen. Bei Yandex sind Textanzeigen, Bildanzeigen, Text- und Bildanzeigen, Anzeigen mit Text- und Videoerweiterung und intelligente Banner möglich.

Natürlich ist die Art der verfügbaren Anzeigenformate nicht der einzige Unterschied. Die Header auf YAN (Yandex Advertising Network) können je nach Gerät eine Länge zwischen 33 bis 35 Zeichen einnehmen, während Google AdWords nur 30 Zeichen erlaubt. Google beschloss jedoch, die Herausforderung von Yandex anzunehmen und erweiterte die Textanzeigenlänge für eine zweizeilige Anzeige von 35 auf 90 Zeichen pro Zeile. Bei YAN hingegen blieb die Länge auf 75 bis 81 Zeichen begrenzt. Da die Wörter in russischer Sprache zumeist länger sind, kommt eine größere Textlänge den Anzeigekunden besonders entgegen.

Was den Wettbewerb anbetrifft, richtet sich Yandex.Direct an ein Nischenpublikum, sodass die Anzeigengebote insgesamt schneller steigen und der CPC (Cost per Click) im Endeffekt höher ausfallen könnte als bei Google Ads. Aber ein entscheidender Vorteil von YAN ist seine Automatisierung. Für niedrig qualitative Websites – also Websites mit einer niedrigen CTR (Click Through Rate) – reduziert die Plattform ihre Gebote, für hoch qualitative Websites erhöht es diese.

Beide Plattformen basieren auf (negativen) Schlagworten. Allerdings unterscheiden sie sich in den Prinzipien, nach denen dem Benutzer nach Eingabe eines bestimmten Keywords Anzeigen präsentiert werden. In vielerlei Hinsicht sind sich die Plattformen ähnlich – aber es gibt auch wesentliche Differenzen.

Warum ist Yandex so beliebt? 

Der wichtigste Faktor, der Yandex in Russland so populär macht, ist die Sprache. Warum? Nun, die Suchmaschine wurde speziell für die russische Sprache entwickelt. Wer mit dem Russischen vertraut ist, kann bezeugen, dass die Sprache ihre eigenen Besonderheiten in Bezug auf Grammatik, Struktur und Wort- und Satzbildung hat. Neben einem eigenen Alphabet (dem kyrillischen Alphabet) ist Russisch auch eine flektierte Sprache, d.h. die grammatikalischen Zusammenhänge werden meist durch Affixe und nicht durch eine bestimmte Wortstellung vermittelt.

Von Russen für Russen geschaffen, kennt die Suchmaschine diese Sprachbesonderheiten – und kann Internetnutzern in kürzerer Zeit bessere Ergebnisse liefern.

Ein weiterer entscheidender Faktor ist Yandex‘ Rolle als einer der größten Medienkanäle Russlands. Mit einer großen Vielzahl an Dienstleistungen wie E-Mails, Kalender, Karten, Speicherplattformen und vieles mehr bietet Yandex dem Google-Giganten entschieden die Stirn. Schließlich ist die Lokalität der Suchmaschine auch von großer Relevanz: Dass Gründer und Nutzer denselben geografischen Raum teilen, schafft großes Vertrauen gegenüber der Plattform.

Wie können Sie beides nutzen?

Wenn Sie eine große Reichweite für Ihre Produkte oder Dienstleistungen in Russland erzeugen wollen, sollten Sie nicht auf Yandex verzichten. Dennoch ist es nicht empfehlenswert, allein in Yandex.Direct zu investieren. Die Werbeplattformen Amazon Advertising, Microsoft Ads und natürlich Google Ads helfen Ihnen ebenfalls dabei, Ihre Conversions zu maximieren. Wenn Sie zwei oder mehr dieser Werbeplattformen gleichzeitig effizient nutzen, können Sie Ihre Marketingstrategie ankurbeln und die Konkurrenz übertreffen.

Allerdings ist bereits die Verwaltung Ihrer Kampagne auf nur einer Werbeplattform schwierig, geschweige denn auf zwei oder mehr. Zum Glück hat Adspert eine Lösung für Sie. Durch die Verwendung einer proprietären mathematischen Statistik-Software optimiert der Adspert-Algorithmus Ihre Werbekampagne bei Google, Amazon, Bing, Yahoo! und Yandex. Nutzen Sie Adspert, um das Beste aus Ihren Kampagnen zu machen und Ihre Geschäftsziele zu erreichen: Sei es Umsatzwachstum, besserer ROI (Return-on-Investment), Kostenmanagement oder Gewinnmaximierung.

WÄHLE DIE ZU OPTIMIERENDE PLATTFORM FÜR DEINEN 30-TÄGIGEN TRIAL

Want to get suggestions on how to optimize your advertising account?

Using Adspert's free product Performance Insider, you can get optimization recommendations in less than a minute. Available for Google Ads, Åmazon, and Microsoft Advertising.

If You’re Active in Russia, Don’t Miss Yandex Advertising

shape shape

While Google is undeniably the most used search engine in the vast majority of countries, Russia is bringing to the virtual table some serious competition for the market share. 

With over 20 years of experience in the Russian marketplace, it is natural to see that Yandex would be the popular choice for many Internet users from this particular location. But by observing the latest statistics, we can see that Google overtook Yandex by reaching a whopping 54.89% in the Russian search engine market share. So with Google (and implicitly Google Ads) on the rise, why should we invest in Yandex and Yandex.Direct? 

Even though the numbers tell us that Google might be a better investment, we believe that your marketing strategy would benefit greatly off of Yandex. Why? Because although Yandex is no longer the number one Russian search engine, it still holds a pretty large share on the search engine market, so it definitely is not a lost investment. But let’s put Google Ads and Yandex.Direct side by side for a quick moment and see how they perform against each other.

What Are The Differences between Yandex Advertising and Google Ads? 

As with most advertising platforms, there are differences and similarities between Yandex Advertising and Google Ads. Let’s start by comparing these two advertising networks. Both of these companies have their private search engines, and they partner with other various websites. Even though Google might partner with more websites, it is important to note that ads from Yandex.Direct will also appear in the searches performed by Mail.ru and Rambler, which are also widely popular in Russia. This is an important and decisive agent if you are considering advertising specifically in the Russian market. 

But what about ad formats? Google presents a handful of ad formats, and so does Yandex. The ad formats that Google features are text ads, dynamic search ads, call-only ads, product shopping ads, showcase shopping ads, and app promotion ads and the ad formats that Yandex presents are text ads, image ads, text and image ads, text and video extension ads, and smart banners

Of course, the type of ad formats that the two platforms present are not the only differences. The header length on YAN (Yandex Advertising Network) can have 33 to 35 characters, depending on the device, while Google AdWords only has 30 characters. But Google decided to step up its game, and instead of the usual 35 characters per line for two lines of description text, it changed to 90 characters, while the text ads length YAN remained limited to 75 to 81 characters. The multitude of characters facilitates Russian ads, being better suited for the Russian language, which is known to have longer words. 

Competition wise, Yandex.Direct is great at targeting niche audiences, which can make bids grow faster, and as a result, the CPC (cost-per-click) for YAN might be higher than the one on Google Ads. But one of the great things about YAN is that your bids will automatically reduce for lower quality websites, and they will increase for websites with a high CTR (click-through rate), which means that your bids will generally be well-spent. 

Both platforms use keywords and negative keywords, but they have different ways to select the ads they will show once a user types in a specific keyword. These two platforms are similar in many ways, but there are still a few major differences setting them apart. 

What Makes Yandex Popular? 

The most significant factor that makes Yandex popular in Russia is the language. How so? Well, the search engine was specifically designed with the Russian language in mind. Whoever is familiar with Russian can attest to the fact that the language has its own particularities when it comes to grammar, structure, and word and sentence formation. Besides possessing a different alphabet altogether (the Cyrillic alphabet), Russian also is an inflected language, which means that the grammatical relations are mostly conveyed by using affixes, and not a specific word order. 

Created by Russians, for Russians, Yandex’s inventors made sure to include all of their language’s particularities in the search engine, making it possible for internet users to get better results in shorter periods. 

Another decisive factor is that Yandex is one of Russia’s biggest media destinations, presenting a large variety of services, such as emails, calendars,  maps, storage platforms, and many more, which makes it a strong competitor against Google. And lastly, the fact that Yandex is a Russian company also plays a pivotal factor because generally speaking, the local Yandex brand has a different perception within people’s minds, and they trust the company more compared with other companies within the same space.

How Can You Use Both? 

While the benefits of using Yandex in Russia are undeniable if you want a great reach for your products or services, Yandex.Direct shouldn’t be the only advertising platform that you invest in. Other platforms that could help you maximize your conversions are Amazon Advertising, Microsoft Ads, and of course, Google Ads. By efficiently using two or more of these advertising platforms at the same time, you can boost your marketing strategy and sweep the competition away.

But managing your campaign on just one advertising platform is hard, let alone on two or more. Luckily, Adspert has the solution for you. By utilizing a proprietary mathematical statistics software, the Adspert algorithm will optimize your advertising campaign on Google, Amazon, Bing, Yahoo! and Yandex. Use Adspert to make the most out of your campaigns and to achieve your business goals, be they turnover growth, better ROI (return-on-investment), cost management, or profit maximization.  

SELECT WHICH PLATFORM TO OPTIMIZE FOR YOUR FREE 30 DAY TRIAL